North East London Directory

The North East is a sub-region of the London Plan corresponding to the London Boroughs of Tower Hamlets, Newham, Waltham Forest, Redbridge, Havering, Barking and Dagenham, and the City of London. The sub region was established in 2008 and replaced the larger East sub region that had been established in 2004. The north east has a population of 1.4 million and is the location of 900,000 jobs. It is an area that has undergone extensive regeneration as part of the London Docklands and continues as part of the Thames Gateway.

There are two metropolitan centres in the sub region, at Romford and Ilford; with major centres at Walthamstow, Stratford, Canary Wharf, East Ham and Barking. Large swathes of the south and west of the sub region are planned for regeneration as part of the Thames Gateway project. Opportunity areas are designated at the City Fringe, Canary Wharf, Lower Lea Valley including Stratford, the Royal Docks, Ilford and London Riverside.